_MG_4666Throughout middle school and high school I hated writing. I felt as if it was impossible for me to gather and organize my thoughts. Also whenever I thought I have done a good job my essays would came back to me with lots of spelling and punctuation mistakes marked. I still got decent grades but I felt like I had to work so much harder for it then everybody else. I won’t deny that it put me off of perusing further education. The fact that I was raised in a working class family didn’t help. My parents encouraged me to get a practical sort of education so I can find a job and start supporting myself.

It wasn’t until I started university as a mature student that I learned that there was a reason why I found learning and writing so difficult. I was 30 when I was diagnosed with dyslexia.

I felt relieved and disappointed at the same time. But most importantly I have learnt how to study, how to make notes and how to write in a way that works for me. That was also when I realized that I always wanted to write well but all the negative feedback I was getting and no help was very discouraging.

I still need to work hard to overcome my occasional fear of writing. But I feel like there is so much I would like to communicate, so much I would like to write about that I do my best to stay positive and not to let my fear to stop me from doing what I always wanted.

